NATIONALPARK STILFSERJOCH PARCO NAZIONALE DELLO STELVIO
Cycling day
Office of the Stelvio National Park
in Glurns
Tel. +39 0473 830430
nationalpark.stilfserjoch@provinz.bz.it

HABITATS

Surroundings with incredible variety ... 
The interaction of the different levels of altitude with its variety of rock and soil types can be found in very different habitats within a small area. 

Floodplains    Spruce forests    Larch yew forest    Dwarf heath and Alpine grass    Rocks and debris mountain kars    Mountain streams   High mountain lake

Floodplains

Floodplains are marked by the change between flooding and dry periods. It’s no trouble for the white willow, black poplar, grey alder and shrub willow to live in the water. They can survive in the water for up to 200 days at a time. Floodplains are also a type of Noah’s ark for many insects.

Red-necked grazing buck: The red-necked grazing buck lives on willow leaves from June to September.

Grape-cherry spinning moth: The caterpillars from the grape-cherry spinning moth, spin a silky veil in order to protect themselves from other animals.

Zebra spider, Oriole and Hawfinch: see the pictures

Spruce forests

Spruce forests are very common in the nature park area. The evergreen spruce tree enjoys its habitat between 800 and 1,400 metres above sea level. As a shadow-spending needle tree, it does not allow other trees and shrubs to live close to it. Herbs grow mainly as grass and dwarf bushes.

Moss bells, Fly amanita, Colourful woodpecker, Forest tree runner, Common crossbill, Spruce bark beetle

Larch yew forest

Larch trees and yews grow at a much higher altitude than the spruce and therefore form a natural woodland limit. They are climate-resistant and are not selective when looking for rocky soil. The yew tree is slow-growing. Some yews might reach an age of more than 1,000 years old. The large yew nuts are much liked by the spotted nutcracker.

Spotted nutcracker, Ring ouzel, Black Grouse, Mountain valerian, Crowberry

Dwarf heath and Alpine grass

Trees don’t grow above an altitude of 2,200 metres above sea level. Grey alder bushes, high perennial corridors, dwarf heath, Alpine grass, as well as Alpine meadows grow side by side, often in a mosaic-type setting, above this altitude. All these formations consist of low-laying plants, marked by cushion growth and dwarf growth. In between, you will find a special type of plant community, such as the ‘wind kante‘or the ‘schneetalchen‘.

Carex curvula: The carex curvula marches along the ground at a growing speed of 0.9 mm/year.

Low-growing heath, Hairy Alpine rose, Water pipit, Ermine

Rocks and debris mountain kars

In the summit region, you will find a number of plants and animals, which thrive in rocky areas. Suitable plants have learnt to grow even on only a small portion of soil. The root develops in crevices and tight gaps and will bloom during the summer. On more or less movable debris heaps, some plants can grow well as they develop an extremely durable root system to hold them in place.

Alpine rhaeticum, Alpine dandelion, Wallcreeper, Alpine ibex, European snow vole

Mountain streams

Mountain streams originate from springs or melting waters from glaciers. Sometimes, they appear grey-brown in colour or appear to be milky. The so-called ‘glacier milk’ comes from stones and rubble, which is crushed and ground by the water.

Fly larvae: Fly larvae have a type of sucker on their belly which allows them to hold onto stones etc.

Quiver fly larvae, Brook trout, Water blackbird, Wagtail

High mountain lake

In the Stilfser Joch National Park, there are more than 100 mountain lakes. Most of them are situated above the tree line. Wildlife inside these lakes depends on constantly low temperatures and has to survive in harsh winter conditions, as well as draw low nutritional value from the water. Mountain lakes are usually not densely populated by insects or other creatures.

Cyclops: Cyclops move with the help of the feelers, slightly hopping through the water.

Water flea: The water flea filters algae out of the water with the help of its eye lashes and bristles on its legs.

Mountain newt

DeutschItalianoEnglish

NATIONALPARK STILFSERJOCH PARCO NAZIONALE DELLO STELVIO
Radtag
Amt für den Nationalpark Stilfserjoch
in Glurns
Tel. +39 0473 830430
nationalpark.stilfserjoch@provinz.bz.it

LEBENSRÄUME

Eine Umgebung mit erstaunlicher Vielfalt … 
Durch das Zusammenspiel der Höhenstufen mit den verschiedenen Gesteins- und Bodentypen entstehen auf kleinem Raum die unterschiedlichsten Lebensräume.

Auwald     Fichtenwald    Lärchen-Zirbenwald    Zwergstrauchheide und alpine Rasen    Felsen und Schuttkare    Gebirgsbach    Hochgebirgssee

Auwald

Auwälder sind geprägt vom Wechsel zwischen Überflutung und Trockenzeiten. Das Leben im Wasser macht den Silberweiden, Schwarzpappeln, Grauerlen und Strauchweiden nichts aus. Bis zu 200 Tage können sie im Wasser stehen. Auwälder sind eine Arche Noah für viele Insekten.   

Rothalsiger Weidenbock: Der Rothalsige Weidenbock lebt von Juni bis September an Weidenblättern. 

Traubenkirsche-Gespinstmotte: Die Raupen der Traubenkirsche-Gespinstmotte spinnen einen seidigen Schleier, um sich vor Fressfeinden zu schützen.

Zebraspinne, Kernbeißer und Pirol: im Bild

Fichtenwald

Fichtenwälder sind im Parkgebiet am weitesten verbreitet. Die immergrüne Fichte fühlt sich in Höhen zwischen 800 und 1.400 m am wohlsten. Sie lässt als stark schattender Nadelbaum nur selten andere Bäume und Sträucher aufkommen. Gräser und Zwergsträucher herrschen in der Krautschicht vor.

Moosglöckchen, Fliegenpilz, Buntspecht, Waldbaumläufer, Fichtenkreuzschnabel, Buchdrucker im Bild

Lärchen-Zirbenwald

Lärche und Zirbe steigen höher als die Fichte und bilden die natürliche Waldgrenze. Sie sind klimaresistent und nicht wählerisch in Bezug auf Gesteinsuntergrund und Boden. Die Zirbe ist eine äußerst langsam wachsende Baumart. Einzelne Zirben können über 1.000 Jahre alt werden. Die großen Zirbennüsse werden vom Tannenhäher im Unterwuchs versteckt.

Tannenhäher, Ringdrossel, Birkhuhn, Bergbaldrian, Krähenbeere: im Bild

Zwergstrauchheide und alpine Rasen

Oberhalb von 2.200 m Meereshöhe kann kein Baum mehr wachsen. Grauerlengebüsche, Hochstaudenfluren, Zwergstrauchheiden, Gebirgsrasen sowie Almwiesen und -weiden kommen oberhalb der Baumgrenze oft mosaikartig miteinander vernetzt vor. Alle diese Formationen bestehen aus niederliegenden Pflanzen, die durch Polster- oder Zwergwuchs gekennzeichnet sind. Dazwischen finden sich spezielle Pflanzengesellschaften wie Windkanten oder Schneetälchen. 

Krummsegge: Die Krummsegge marschiert mit einer Wuchsgeschwindigkeit von 0,9 mm pro Jahr durch den Boden.

Gemsheide, Behaarte Alpenrose, Bergpieper, Hermelin: im Bild

Felsen und Schuttkare

Im Bereich der Gipfel treffen wir Felsspaltengesellschaften an. Geeignete Pflanzenarten haben hier gelernt, mit nur winzigen Erdmengen auszukommen, Sie fassen in Rissen und engen Klüften Fuß und kommen sogar zum Blühen. Auf mehr oder weniger beweglichen Schutt- und Blockhalden kommen Schuttfluren vor. Um sich festhalten zu können, müssen Pflanzen ein äußerst regenerationsfähiges Wurzelsystem ausbilden. 

Gelber Alpenmohn, Alpen-Leinkraut, Mauerläufer, Steinbock, Schneemaus im Bild.

Gebirgsbach

Gebirgsbäche werden aus Quellen oder vom Schmelzwasser der Gletscher gespeist. Mitunter sind sie grau-braun bis milchig-trüb gefärbt. Diese Trübung („Gletschermilch“) entsteht durch den Transport fein zerriebenen Gesteins im Wasser.

Lidmückenlarven: Lidmückenlarven besitzen am Bauch Saugnäpfe, mit denen sie sich an Steinen festsaugen.

Köcherfliegenlarven, Bachforelle, Wasseramsel und Gebirgsstelze im Bild.

Hochgebirgssee

Im Bereich des Nationalparks Stilfserjoch gibt es über hundert Gebirgsseen. Die meisten liegen oberhalb der Waldgrenze. Das Leben in diesen Seen orientiert sich an den ständig niedrigen Temperaturen, den unwirtlichen winterlichen Bedingungen und dem geringen Nährgehalt des Wassers. Gebirgsseen sind nur spärlich von Lebewesen besiedelt.

Hüpferling: Mit seinen Fühlern bewegt sich der Hüpferling stoßweise „hüpfend“ durch das Wasser. 

Wasserfloh: Der Wasserfloh filtert mit Hilfe von Wimpern und Borsten an seinen Beinen Algen aus dem Wasser. 

Bergforelle, Bergmolch und Wasserläufer im Bild.

DeutschItalianoEnglish