NATIONALPARK STILFSERJOCH PARCO NAZIONALE DELLO STELVIO
Office of the Stelvio National Park
in Glurns
Tel. +39 0473 830430
nationalpark.stilfserjoch@provinz.bz.it

MAIN VALLEYS 

How do I reach the national park?  Striking valleys lead to the centre-piece of this preservation area.  You will advance into the glacier regions with impressive backdrops. 

Mighty northly-exposed glaciers are at the end of the valleys, particularly the upper valleys of Sulden and Trafoi.  From both valleys, you can take the classic routes up the Ortler glacier and its satellite peaks.  
At the foot of the Madatsch mountain in Trafoi, three water falls thunder down into the valley and create an imposing natural spectacle.  In Trafoi the spectacular ascending road to the Stilfser Joch (2,278 metres) begins, with more than 48 bends.  It is one of the highest Alpine mountain passes.  
The end of the Martell Valley with the summit of the Cevedale glacier is simply breath-taking.  Steep mountain farmhouses and a unique cultural landscape bear witness to the fact that the locals continued to make a living off this barren ground throughout history.
Hintermartell is a popular summer area for red deer.  
The Ulten valley is largely covered by forests.  Wood as a building material has a great tradition in this valley and you should check out the round wood block constructions of some residential and farming buildings.  Only the upper part of the valley above the village of St. Gertraud you will find the natural park area.  

DeutschItalianoEnglish

NATIONALPARK STILFSERJOCH PARCO NAZIONALE DELLO STELVIO
Radtag
Amt für den Nationalpark Stilfserjoch
in Glurns
Tel. +39 0473 830430
nationalpark.stilfserjoch@provinz.bz.it

HAUPTTÄLER

Wie gelange ich in den Nationalpark? Markante Täler führen in das Herzstück des Schutzgebietes. Sie stoßen bis in die Gletscherregionen vor und bieten dem Besucher eindrucksvolle Kulissen.

Mächtige nordexponierte Gletscher nehmen die Talschlüsse der Hochtäler von Sulden und Trafoi ein. Aus beiden Tälern führen klassische Anstiege auf den Ortler und seine Trabanten.
Am Fuße des Madatsch in Trafoi donnern drei Wasserfälle als imposantes Naturschauspiel zu Tal. Bei Trafoi beginnt über 48 Kehren die spektakuläre Auffahrt zum Stilfserjoch (2.758m), einem der höchsten Alpenpässe. 
Großartig ist der vergletscherte, vom Gipfel des Cevedale geprägte, Talschluss des Martelltales. Steile Bergbauernhöfe und eine einzigartige Kulturlandschaft zeugen vom Versuch der Menschen, dem kargen Boden Erträge abzuringen. 
Hintermartell ist ein beliebtes Sommereinstandsgebiet für Rotwild. 
Das Ultental ist über weite Flächen waldbestockt. Der Baustoff Holz hat Tradition im Tal, was vor allem an der Rundholz-Blockbauweise einiger Wohn-/Wirtschaftsgebäude gut ersichtlich ist. Nur der hinterste Teil des Tales, oberhalb der Ortschaft St. Gertraud, liegt im Parkgebiet. 

DeutschItalianoEnglish